Nabuin was initially, a Government Institute established in the early 1963 to serve the then greater Karamoja District with knowledge and extension services in agriculture. However, during the 1979 unrest and subsequent years, the centre was vandalized and its entire infrastructure was completely destroyed and ceased to operate. However, the National Agricultural Research Act 2005 re—established Nabuin ZARDI as a zonal agricultural research institute to provide agricultural research services to the North Eastern dry land Agro-ecological zone of Teso and Karamoja. The ZARDI has for the last 14 years grown into a center for agricultural research technologies and services in the zone and beyond. This has been possible through farmer participation, involvement and collaboration with partners.

At Nabuin ZARDI, we conduct agricultural research on animal resources, crop and natural resources, and carry out deliberate promotion of these technologies, products and services to farmers for adaption in the North East agroecological zone.


To conduct and manage applied and adaptive agricultural research and facilitate the development and dissemination of appropriate technologies that address specific needs of the North Eastern agroecological zone.


Nabuin ZARDI is governed by Advisory Committee, with the overall function to provide technical guidance to technology generation and promotion.


Nabuin Zonal Agricultural Research and Development Institute (ZARDI) is one of the sixteen Public Agricultural Research Institutes of the National Agricultural Research Organization established by the NAR (Act) 2005. It is located in Lorengedwat sub county, Nabilatuk district, Karamoja sub region.

Focus Areas of Research

Nabuin ZARDI carries out zonal applied and adaptive agricultural research of importance to Teso and Karamoja semi-arid drylands.

The Research focuses on increasing production and productivity of crops, livestock, apiculture, aquaculture, soil fertility and soil water management. Other research areas include, agro-forestry, animal traction, and socio-economics.

The Research mandated zone covers 18 districts of Teso and Karamoja sub region respectively. These are; Serere, Soroti, Kaberamaido, Ngora, Kumi, Bukedea, Amuria, Katakwi, Kapelebyong, and Napak, Moroto, Nakapiripirit, Nabilatuk, Kotido, Abim, Kaabong, Amudat and Karenga.

Dry season feeding - Hay production and utilization

Farmers making hay bales
Women carrying hay bale for storage and sale during dry season

Pasture Seed Production

Packaged chloris gayana seed. To increase access of quality pasture seed to farmers


Fish Cages in Arecheck dam Napak district and some of the harvested fish


Value addition: apiculture products promoted by Nabuin ZARDI

Crop Production

Vegetable Production

Work with us: Application Procedure for Volunteers and Internships

Volunteers: Interested persons are advised to write and deliver applications to NaCRRI on weekdays.

Submit your application to the office of Director of Research Nabuin ZARDI.

Interested? Reach out to us

We always enjoy reading feedback about our activities, whether an idea for an article or a suggestion for something we should do…