The research division relocated to Kawanda and expansion of research under different Ministries notably, crops, fisheries and forestry initiated. Nakawa forestry research center was established in 1938. East African Fisheries Research Organization (EAFRO) was established in 1947. East African Trypanosomiasis Research Organisation (EATRO) , now the home of NALIRRI, was founded in 1956.