NARO Council

The NARO Governing Council, which is the Supreme organ overseeing and ensuring good Corporate Governance practices are upheld in the National Agricultural Research Organization, is appointed by the Minister of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries and has a tenure of 4 years. The composition of the NARO Governing Council is enshrined in the 2005 NARS Act which dictates that representation to the Governing Council will include;

In the execution of its oversight role, the Governing Council has the following committees in place: (i) Science Committee, (ii) Human Resource and Finance Committee, (iii) Users Committee, (iv)Audit Committee and the (v) Nominations Committee

The NARO Governing Council is supported by a Secretariat in the execution of its roles. The Secretariat is overseen by a Director General who is assisted in this role by two (2) Deputy Director Generals; Deputy Director General – Research Coordination and Deputy Director General – Agricultural Technology Promotion, Director for Corporate Services, Director Finance and Accounts, Director Human Resources and Head of Internal Audit.


Dr. Ambrose J. Agona

Director General

CPA Denis Owor

Director Internal Audit

Dr. Yona Baguma

Deputy Director General Research Coordination

Robert Bagonza

Director, Human Resources

Mary Theresa Kiggundu

Director Finance

Dr. Sadik Kassim

DDG Agricultural Technology Promotion